In the Cracks of the Sidewalk

Overcast

The weather was nice

His skin golden and ready for more

Never seen him before

Says he’s in my class

Must be sitting behind me

Overcast

Disappointment in the sky

But in the cracks of the sidewalk

Pollen piles up

And a tear in the sky reveals warmth

I am as sad as the sky

Because I didn’t meet his eyes sooner

They were blue enough

To fill the atmosphere

And banish the gloom

So I smile at the pollen

In the cracks of the sidewalk

It doesn’t occur to me

That I didn’t ask his name

Because it’s overcast.

Leave a Reply

